French Open

French Open

  • Founded in 1891.
  • The French Open also called as Roland-Garros is a major tennis tournament held at the Stade Roland Garros in Paris, France, beginning in late May each year.
  • The tournament and venue are named after the French aviator Roland Garros.
  • It is the premier clay court championship in the world.

Grand slams

  • It is chronologically the second of the four annual Grand Slam tournaments.
  1. The Australian Open
  2. The French Open
  3. Wimbledon
  4. The US Open
  • The French Open is widely considered as the toughest and most physically demanding tournament in tennis.

About trophy

  • The trophies have been awarded to the winners since 1953 and are manufactured by Mellerio dits Meller, a famous Parisian jewelry house. They are all made of pure silver.
  • They are usually presented by the President of the French Tennis Federation (FFT).
  • The trophy awarded to the winner of the men's singles is called the Coupe des Mousquetaires (The Musketeers' Cup).
  • The trophy weighs 14 kg, is 40 cm high and 19 cm wide.
  • The trophy awarded to the winner of the women's singles is called the Coupe Suzanne Lenglen (Suzanne Lenglen Cup).

Most winner

  • Men’s Most singles titles - Rafael Nadal (14 times) - 2005–2008, 2010–2014, 2017–2020, 2022.
  • Women’s Most singles titles - Chris Evert (7 times) - 1974–1975, 1979–1980, 1983, 1985–1986.